Graduate Research School

Trans-Tasman Three Minute Thesis


Further Information

Rules and Judging Criteria


Active PhD candidates who have successfully passed their confirmation milestones (including candidates whose thesis is under submission) by the date of their first presentation are eligible to participate in 3MT competitions at all levels, including the Trans-Tasman 3MT competition. Graduates are not eligible.

  • Winner: $5,000 prize
  • Runner-up: $2,000 prize
  • People's Choice: $1,000 prize and the opportunity to have your talk developed as an animation by 99Scholars.


The 2015 Trans-Tasman 3MT, held at UQ on Friday 2nd October was won by Eamonn Fahy from The University of Melbourne's Centre for Eye Research Australia. The runner-up and Peoples' Choice Award winner was Jaysuman Bin Pusppanathan from the Faculty of Electrical Engineering at Universiti Teknologi Malaysia. UWA's Marcus Giacci, from the School of Animal Biology was selected as one of 10 finalists in a strong field of 50 competitors.

The 2014 Trans-Tasman 3MT was  held at UWA.

 Dean of Graduate and Postdoctoral Training at UWA, Alan Dench opens the 3MT  

Trans-Tasman 3MT finalistis  Competitors representing universities from New Zealand 


Rosanna Stevens receives her prize from Simon Clews  Rosanna Stevens (ANU) pleased to be runner-up James Mercer from Springer presents Sarah Marley with her winner's cheque